WhatsApp Users Can Now Unsend Messages That Are Two Days Old

0

WhatsApp users will have two days and 12 hours to delete a message after sending it. Previously, this limit was only one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds – that was specific. In order to delete a message sent in WhatsApp, all you need to do is tap and hold on it for a few seconds, then tap the “Delete” button.

In order to delete a message that has been sent already:

  • A user is required to tap on the message and then wait for the options to appear.
  • If you want to delete the message for yourself and the receiver, then tap on the “Delete Message for Everyone” option.
  • However, if you accidentally tap on the “Delete for Me” option, the message will only be deleted for you.

The feature has been quite controversial as some users believe that options to edit and unsend messages can be used for malicious purposes. This also led Apple to add a change history for edited messages in iMessage. While some users are happy with the increased time limit, some have also pointed out that people could misuse the feature. With iMessage, users have said that two minutes are too less to decide whether one wants to keep the message or not.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here