WhatsApp new features will let you leave groups silently, choose who sees you online

0

WhatsApp has just announced a number of new privacy features to the popular communication platform, which will roll out soon for all users.

New features:

  • Leave groups silently: This feature will allow users to exit a group without notifying anyone. Only the admins will be notified when one wants to leave the group. This feature will roll out this month.
  • Choose who can see when you’re online: This feature will allow users to decide who can and who can’t see them online to keep the online presence private. This feature will enable users to check their WhatsApp privately, while staying connected to their friends and family. This feature will roll out this month.
  • Screenshot blocking for View Once messages: View Once messages that allows users to share photos or media without a permanent digital record, will now have another layer of protection. This feature is being tested and will be rolled out to users soon.

Ami Vora, Head of Product at WhatsApp, said, “At WhatsApp, we’re focused on building product features that empower people to have more control and privacy over their messages. Over the years, we’ve added interlocking layers of protection to help keep their conversations secure, and the new features is one way we continue to deliver on our commitment to keep messages private. No other global messaging service at this scale provides this level of security for their users’ messages, media, voice messages, video calls, and chat backups.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here