In WhatsApp new feature, One cannot forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with view once media enabled. The “view once” ephemeral messaging feature has started rolling out via WhatsApp for iPhone version 2.21.150 in India.
Once you get the feature, you will be able to enable the disappearance of the photo or video before sending them to your contacts by tapping the new “1” icon that appears next to the caption bar. Photos and videos shared using the “view once” feature will no longer be visible in the chat they were sent to after the recipient exits the media viewer. Media content will also not be saved in the recipient’s photos or gallery, and they will not be able to transfer them through the app. However, recipients can still take a screenshot of “view once” photos or capture those videos using the default screen recording feature.
‘View Once’ key features:
- Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery.
- Once you send a view once a photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again.
- One cannot forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with the view once media is enabled.
- One can only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.
- If you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.
- An individual must select view once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.
- View once media can be restored from backup if the message is unopened at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.