Twitter, which started testing Circle earlier this month with a limited group, has started rolling out the feature to more users. The feature, which allows users to choose up to 150 people, works a lot like Instagram’s Close Friends, as it allows users to send out tweets to a specific group of people rather than all of Twitter.
Twitter Circle is a way to send Tweets to select people, and share your thoughts with a smaller crowd. You choose who’s in your Twitter Circle, and only the individuals you’ve added can reply to and interact with the Tweets you share in the Circle. Users have have to select the 150 people and they can be added or removed from the ‘Circle’ list at any time. Only those in a Circle can see a tweet shared with them. Every tweet will have a note saying, “Only people in @[yourusername]’s Twitter Circle can see this tweet.” Tweets shared with Circles can not be retweeted, even by those who are in the exclusive list. They can, however, download or screenshot the said tweet.
How do you use it?
- When you do get access to Circle, you’ll first need to choose who you want in your group. And since you can add up to 150 folks, you’ll likely have a harder time choosing who you don’t want in your Circle than who you do.
- Once you’ve set up your Circle, though, you can start tweeting at them. It’s an incredibly straightforward operation. Simply type out your tweet, then select Twitter Circle to ensure that your tweets aren’t going out into the ether, but rather, will be seen by your Circle members.
- Only people in your Circle can see tweets you’ve sent to your Circle. So there’s no way outside Twitter users will ever know what you’re up to. What’s more, your Circle members can’t retweet your posts outside of the Circle. For instance, if you say that the game “Elden Ring” is too hard and you’ll never beat it to your Circle, they’re the only people that will see it. No one browsing regular Twitter will know, even if they follow you outside of your Circle.
- You can also remove people from your Circle if they aren’t contributing to the conversation — or are being jerks — at any time. What’s more, they won’t receive a notification. So as far as they’re concerned you’re just not posting in your Circle anymore.