How to watch the ‘ring of fire’ solar eclipse online Today

0
170

Ring of Fire annular solar eclipse will be visible to people in parts of Canada, Greenland, and northern Russia today. The solar eclipse will be broadcast on YouTube and Facebook. COVID-19 travel restrictions has made eclipse-chasing rather difficult for this event, but there are plenty of places to live stream the eclipse online.

NASA VIDEO

NASA will carry a feed of a partial solar eclipse from 5 a.m. EDT (09:00 UTC), but will be dark until sunrise at 5:47 a.m. EDT (09:47 UTC).

VIRTUAL TELESCOPE PROJECT

Though coordinated by Gianluca Masi at the Virtual Telescope Project in Rome, Italy this stream will have astro-imagers in Toronto and Saint John, Canada, but also in Thunder Bay, Canada, where the eclipse will be annular.

Royal Museums Greenwich

Royal Museums Greenwich (near London) is hosting a livestream from the Royal Observatory, which is the traditionally situated location of the prime meridian. The livestream starts at 5:05 a.m. EDT (1005 GMT) on both Facebook and  YouTube.

TimeandDate.com

TimeandDate.com will livestream the eclipse on YouTube at 5 a.m. EDT (1000 GMT) and also has a web page showcasing several streaming partners that will be helping out from the United States and Canada.

SPACE TODAY(YouTube)

Another source for live rocket launches and live streams of celestial events also has a livestream scheduled for this eclipse.

Coats Obesrvatory, Scotland(Facebook)

Coats Observatory in Paisley, Scotland is the country’s oldest public observatory. Expect footage from a dedicated solar telescope live on facebook, with staff will be online to answer any astronomy questions. Paisley will see a 32% partial solar eclipse.